SAGEMAP

CURRENT DISTRIBUTION OF SAGEBRUSH AND ASSOCIATED VEGETATION IN THE COLUMBIA BASIN AND SOUTHWEST REGIONS
Map Zones in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.
Map Zones in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

This regional landcover dataset was produced using decision tree classification and other techniques to model landcover. Multi-season satellite imagery (Landsat ETM+, 1999-2003) and digital elevation model (DEM) derived datasets (e.g. elevation, landform, aspect, etc.) were utilized to derive rule sets for the various landcover classes. These land cover classes were drawn from NatureServe's Ecological System concept and a description of the mapped ecological systems can be found in the .pdf document, Land Cover Legend: Current Distribution of Sagebrush and Associated Vegetation in the Columbia Basin and Southwestern Regions.This link opens in a new window

These spatial data are available in three spatial extents: regional, state, and mapping zone.

Regional:

The regional data set includes an 8 state area (AZ, CO, ID, NM, NV, OR, UT WA) and is a compilation of the Columbia Basin and Southwest GAP datasets. The zip file This link opens in a new window contains a folder with the ArcInfo grid dataset, ArcGIS layer file, FGCD metadata file This link opens in a new window, .dbf lookup table and land cover class descriptions. This link opens in a new window

Download Entire Regional Data Set
Data AreaDownload
Regional Data (262 mB) This link opens in a new window /FTP/regional/USGS/shrubmap.zip

State:

We serve state-level data for Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. Data for the other 5 states can be obtained from the Southwest Regional GAP Program This link opens in a new window. The state-level download is a zip file containing the ArcInfo grid dataset, ArcGIS layer file, FGCD metadata file This link opens in a new window, .dbf lookup table and a .pdf document of land cover class descriptions. This link opens in a new window

Download Data by State
Data Area: StateDownload
Idaho (28 mB) This link opens in a new window /FTP/regional/USGS/idaho.zip
Oregon (28 mB) This link opens in a new window /FTP/regional/USGS/oregon.zip
Washington (13 mB) This link opens in a new window /FTP/regional/USGS/washington.zip

Map Zone:

The eleven mapping zones, each defined by ecological and spectral characteristics, were modeled independently of one another. Methodology and accuracy, therefore, differ among the zones. Each mapping zone level zip file contains an ArcInfo grid dataset, ArcGIS layer file, FGCD metadata file, .dbf lookup table, land cover class description, and a zone-specific .pdf document describing methodology and a zonal accuracy assessment which may be downloaded seperately.


Download Data by Map Zone
Data Area: Map ZoneViewDownload
Basin and Range (19 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/basin_and_range.zip
Blue Mountains (5 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/blue_mountains.zip
Columbia Basin (17 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/columbia_basin.zip
East Cascades (6 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/east_cascades.zip
Klamath (4 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/klamath.zip
Lost River (5 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/lost_river.zip
Northern Rockies (4 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/northern_rockies.zip
Owyhee Uplands (8 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/owyhee_uplands.zip
Sawtooth (8 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/sawtooth.zip
Snake River Plain (11 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/snake_river_plain.zip
Southeast Idaho (6 mB) This link opens in a new window View Methods /FTP/regional/USGS/southeast_idaho.zip

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://sagemap.wr.usgs.gov/Shrubmap.aspx
Page Contact Information: webmaster
Page Last Modified: 5/16/2012